The Smugglers

It’s a shame to admit it, but I’m finding the missing episodes much more of a chore these days. I think it’s because there’s so many of them – it’s daunting when I look at my spreadsheet and see a big block of red, and Season 4 is going to be particularly tough:

image

I found The Smugglers took quite a while to capture my interest, but I’m not sure whether that’s the fault of the serial or the medium. After all, I really enjoyed The Myth Makers and The Savages despite their missing statusmore so than The Gunfighters and The Web Planet, for example. It did pick up in the last couple of episodes, after The Doctor escaped and everything started to converge on the church. However, the plot was rather slight with very few surprises, and it progressed at a snail’s pace.

Ben and Polly were on good form – I like them as a double act, and the dynamic between them is reminiscent of the as-yet-unsurpassed Ian and Barbara. However, this is another serial that feels extremely Doctor-lite, and not in a Blink way. It didn’t feel like he really affected the outcome of the plot, and you get the sense that the production felt his mere presence was a bit of a pain of the arse.

For the first time, my conclusion matches that of the team – this is the right time for Hartnell to go. The companion team has been chopped and changed and there’s still something not quite right. We clearly need a new lead actor. I’ve loved everything I’ve previously seen of Troughton, so obviously I can’t wait to see him take over. But I’m also hoping that Hartnell’s final serial gives him a suitably good send off, because up until now he’s been way better than his reputation would suggest.

RATING: 5

Leave a Comment

