Planet of Giants

This is a strange one, to say the least, but the miniaturised crew navigating their way through a garden and a laboratory is great fun – very Honey I Shrunk The Kids. The B-plot, concerning a dangerous new pesticide and a bunch of resultant murder and intrigue, is a little bit jarring, but entertaining enough in itself.

It was only after I finished the story, and embarked on my usual tour of fansites and wikis for contextual information, that I learned of the production difficulties – it was shot as a four parter, and then re-edited into just three episodes. Personally, I felt it could have sustained its full length – the last episode did feel a little rushed in a way I couldn’t put my finger on until I knew the backstory.

RATING: 6

Leave a Comment

